Junior hurling championship - Randals v Kilbrittain - 2020-09-27 14:15:00

Randals and Kilbrittain met at Ahiohill on Saturday evening last, 26th September, in the junior B hurling final. It was a fine clear evening with the sun dominant in the western sky behind one of the goals.

This was a close hard fought game as rhe final score would indicate.

Kilbrittain were first on the board with a point from a free in the opening minute, but they missed a few chances and Gerard Lynch, also from a free, sent over the equaliser some five minutes in.

This was followed by two more, one from Patrick  Crowley and one from Donncha Collins and it was 0-3 to 0-1 with about ten minutes gone. In the remaining minutes of the first quarter it was score for score. Kibrittain got two points but Eoin O'Donovan, Kevin Dullea and, from an impossible angle, Donncha Collins made it 0-6 to 0-3 at first water break.

Kilbrittain were on top for a period following the break and scored three points within five minutes of resumption  - 0-6 to 0-6. 

Eoin O'Donovan got a point to restore Randals' lead and then came the goals which proved decisive eventually. Donncha Collins got the first and then Eoin O'Donovan, gaining possession from a high ball, finished the second.

 It was 2-7 to 0-6 at half time.

A Randal Og penalty was saved and cleared early in the second half as Kilbrittain set about reducig the lead. But Donncha Collins and Eoin O'Donovan were on target again in the third quarter. The margin was down to three points - 2-9 to 0-12 at second water break.

Randals defended stoutly in the closing period and Kilbrittain were held to two points late in the game. 

It was :  Randal Og 2-9 Kilbrittain 0-12 at full time. Well done lads.

Team:  Patrick Lynch, Eoin O'Sullivan, Shane Patterson, Conor O'Neill, Johnny Collins, Conor O'Connell, Gerard Lynch, Peter Collins, Seamus Crowley, Seadhna Crowley, Kevin Dullea, Patrick Crowley, Donncha Collins, Eoin O'Donovan, Cathal Duggan.

Subs: Sam Kingston, Liam O'Donovan .

Lotto Results


No winner of Monday nights lotto draw

3 Lucky Dip Winners

€50 - Sophie O'Connell, Edencurra

€25 - Eileen Harrington, Nedineagh

€25 - Michael O'Donovan, Manch

Next draw will take place on Monday 2nd October for a jackpot prize of €3,000