Under 21 football - Randals v Ahan Gaels - 2020-02-05 18:14:00

The under 21 B football championship got under way at the weekend, with five first round games being played obn Saturday and Sunday.

Randals and Ahan Gaels met at Clonakilty on Sunday evening in cold blustery conditions, with a north westerly wind, although the rain stayed away.

Ahan were first to score, a point in the second minute. Conor O'Neill sent over the equaliser from a free, with four minutes gone,

but Ahan regained the lead with another point, also from a free, and they added three more, and missed a few, to go into a 0-5 to 0-1 lead after eleven minutes.

That was the score going into the second quarter, but then came a game changer, when Donncha Collins finished off a Randal Og move for the first goal of the game in the seventeenth minute.

Conor O'Neill levelled the scores with a point on twenty one minutes, and Cathal Duggan added another from a free two minutes later.

A second goal, scored by Sean Daly, and a point from Peter Collins, coming up to half time, gave Randals a 2-4 to 0-5 lead at the break.

It was a tough well contested second half. Conor O' Neill increased the lead, with a point from a free, in the thirty first minute. 

Ahan got two back. Peter Collins pointed in the thirty minute.  

Two more Ahan points followed, one from a free,and there were only three points between the sides going in into the final quarter. 

2-6 to 0-9.

Cathal Duggan, with a great point from play, and Conor O'Neill, with another from a free, put Randals five ahead again with about as many minutes to go.

Ahan got a point from a free and itwas 2-8 to 0-10.

Randals finished strongly. Cathal Duggan was on target with another point from a free.

Almost into injury time, a close in free was taken  by Cathal Duggan. He sent in a high ball which was caught by the wind and met by  the in running Conor O'Neill who finished to the net for a third goal.

Cathal Duggan had the last score, a point, and it was:  Randal Og 3-10  Ahan Gaeals  0-10 at full time.

Team: Ciaran Murray, Padraig Duggan, Conor O'Neill, Cal Nyhan, Padraig Galvin, Seamus Crowley, Peter Collins, Cian O'Neill, Donncha Collins,  Cathal Duggan, Daire Hayes, Sean Daly, Ronan Daly, Conor O'Neill, Eoin O'Sullivan.

Subs: Padraig O'Sullivan, Andrew McCarthy, Sean Calnan.

Lotto Results


No winner of this fornight's lotto jackpot

3 Lucky Dip Winners

€50 - John McCarthy, Dunmanway

€25 - Finbarr Lynch, Bunanumera

€25 - Daniel O'Connell, Edencurra

Next draw will take place on Monday 11th July for a jackpot of €3,000

As always thank you for supporting our club lotto