Under 21 football championship - 2019-04-24 10:48:00

Our under twenty footballers advanced to the  Carbery championship final with a hard fought win over Tadhg Mac Carthaigh's of Caheragh at Leap on Easter Monday evening.

And a close, hard fought game it was, with the outcome in doubt right up to the end,

Randals got off to a good start, to go three points up in the opening minutes. The scorers were Cathal Duggan, from a free, Daire Hayes and Conor O'Neill,who sent over from a difficult angle.

Caheragh got their first score around the nine minute mark.

Minutes later Donncha Collins set off on a solo run, was pulled down and Conor O'Neill scored from the resultant free. Ronan Daly added another to put Randals four points ahead, coming up to the end of the first quarter -  0-5 to 0-1.

The second quarter belonged to the Caheragh boys, as they scored five points without reply over a thirteen minute period and were 0-6 to 0-5 ahead at half time.

It was score for score in the early stages of the second half. Caheragh stretched their lead with two points. Donncha Cpllins and Padraig Galvin got them back .  Two more Caheragh points  followed to give  them a lead of 0-10 to 0-7 as the last quarter approached.

The game changed again when the  first goal came, midway through the half, a great move finished off brilliantly by Cathal Duggan.

Scores were level, game was wide open and excitement mounted. Two more points and Caheragh were ahead again, Padraig Galvin reduced their lead to one.

Then came goal number two, another  brilliant run by Donncha Collins  saw hm slip a low ball from close in, under and past the advancing goalkeeper.  Randals gained possession from the kick out, launched another attack and Donncha was on target again to score another point - 2-9 to 0-12.

However Caheragh were not finished yet and they came back for more scores, missing very little and getting three points to make it all square again.

Into injury  time, Randals attacked again and Caheragh conceded a close in free.

Eoin O'Sullivan stepped up to the mark and coolly slotted over what was the winning score.

There was a minute or two of injury time remaining, but that was the  full time score :  Randal Og  2-10   Tadhg MacCarthaighh  0-15 

Team : Ciaran Murray, Peter Collins, Conor O'Connell, Padraig Galvin, Seamus Crowley, Cian O'Neill, Eoin O'Sullivan, Donncha Collins, Cathal Duggan, Ronan Daly, Conor O'Neill, Daire Hayes.

Subs:  Con O'Sullivan, Diarmuid Hayes.

Lotto Results


No jackpot winner. Prizes won by Kieran Cahalane, Edencurra; Matt Coakley, Kilronan and Margaret O'Donovan, Manch. Next draw on Sunday, 27th October, will be for jackpot of €1,700.